Is omega-3 vegan? Basically yes – but not always. The best tips for vegan nutrition.

Is Omega-3 vegan Basically yes - but not always. The best tips for vegan nutrition.

Do you live a vegan life or do you pay attention to healthy food? Then you must have heard of the famous unsaturated fatty acids. Omega-3 belongs to this group. They are considered to be particularly healthy and are one of the reasons why most nutrition experts recommend eating fish several times a week.

But wait a minute… fish? Is there no vegan alternative?

Don’t worry, omega-3 is also available in vegetable form. Nevertheless, there is a little catch with fish – excuse the pun – because if your diet doesn’t contain fish, you have to make sure that you eat vegan food with enough omega-3 fatty acids. This makes it all the more important to pay attention to food supplements, as many omega-3 capsules contain fish oil, which, as the name suggests, comes from fish.

There is a reason why you should pay attention to a sufficient intake of fatty acids. Our body simply cannot function without them. Omega-3 fats belong to the group of unsaturated fatty acids alongside omega-6 and omega-9 fatty acids. We need them in our organism above all for the normal functioning of certain cells, our blood circulation and vessels.

There are three representatives of omega-3 fatty acids, which are particularly important because our body cannot produce them on its own, or only to a limited extent:

  • Alpha-linolenic acid (ALA)
  • docosahexaenoic acid (DHA)
  • Eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA)

We have a few tips for you, so that you can get enough of it even with a vegan lifestyle.

This way you get enough omega-3 fatty acids even with a vegan diet

With a vegan diet, you have two options for meeting your omega-3 fatty acid needs: vegetable omega-3 sources and dietary supplements.

If you plan your diet carefully, it is easy to get enough unsaturated fatty acids only through food. However, if you do not want to worry about this or if you want to treat a specific omega-3 deficiency, taking omega-3 capsules may be the better alternative for you.

Omega-3 through vegan food

Above all, make sure that your diet contains sufficient alpha-linolenic acid. Our body cannot produce them on its own.

Popular plant sources for this are for example hemp seeds, flax seeds or walnuts. According to the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA), you need about one tablespoon of ground flax seed, two tablespoons of hemp seed or six walnuts to cover your daily requirement of ALA.

Omega-3 through vegan food supplement

Vegan omega-3 supplements usually contain oil from particularly nutrient-rich microalgae. If you eat a plant-based diet, you often consume very little of the omega-3 fatty acids EPA and DHA. With the regular intake of such algae oil capsules you can supplement your diet with the valuable omega-3 nutrients. The EFSA recommends about 250 milligrams of the substances per day.

Tip for vegans: Do not only pay attention to the ingredients of the food supplement capsules, but also find out about the composition of the capsule itself. Often these contain animal substances that are naturally not at all beneficial to a vegan lifestyle.

It’s the balance that counts!

As so often in life, balance is also crucial in the supply of omega fatty acids – and in several respects:

  • Our body can produce the fatty acids EPA and DHA from alpha-linolenic acid, but only with limited efficiency. So make sure you take in enough of all the important omega-3 fatty acids.
  • For your body to benefit from the nutrients, the ratio between omega-6 and omega-3 fatty acids must be correct. It should be at least 5:1 (the more equivalent, the better). If you take in more omega-3 vegan, you will also need more omega-6.

These 5 vegetable foods are the best sources of omega-3 in a vegan diet

5th place: Brussels sprouts

Whether as a side dish or main course – Brussels sprouts are delicious. But not only that: the vegetables are also super healthy! It is rich in dietary fibre, vitamins C and K, and also contains a good portion of unsaturated fatty acids.

For example, 40 grams of Brussels sprouts contain about 40 milligrams of the most important omega-3 fatty acid, alpha-linolenic acid.

4th place: Walnuts

A nut consists of more than 60% fat. On the one hand, this makes them very high in calories, but on the other hand they are also a bomb of healthy energy. The fats contained are all healthy fats. Even a small portion (30g) of walnuts covers with more than 2500 milligrams already far more than the daily requirement of vegan omega-3 fatty acids.

And they are extremely versatile: for garnishing food, for baking or in salads. In contrast to sprouts, they are also much better suited as a healthy snack for in between meals.

3rd place: Hemp seeds

Hemp seeds are full of healthy omega-3 fatty acids. 30 grams contain about 6000 milligrams of ALA. Hemp seeds alone are of course a bit boring, but they make a great addition to all kinds of dishes. So try refining your cereal smoothie with healthy and vegan cannabis seeds.

2nd place: Linseed

If you are looking for vegan omega-3 sources, you have come to the right place with flax seeds. A particularly effective tip is the healthy linseed oil. It consists of more than 50% pure omega-3 fatty acids and can be used in salads, for cooking or for a delicious homemade spread. The oil tastes best when fresh. So if you reach for linseed oil in the shop, you should consume it within a few weeks, otherwise it becomes bitter.

1st place: Seaweed

Why of all things do seaweeds deserve our number one spot on the list? Don’t worry, we’re not recommending algae pizza or anything like that. Rather, they are very special micro layers through which we can absorb omega-3 vegan – the Schizochytrium species. You can take them in the form of effective oil capsules.

Fish have so much Omega-3 because they get it from their food (algae). So if we reach directly for these algae, we can skip the non-vegan part of this food chain.

A problem with vegan diets and omega-3 is that ALA can be obtained relatively well from plant foods such as nuts, but high levels of EPA and DHA are found almost exclusively in fish. The algae of the Schizochytrium species are an exception and are rich in all omega-3 fatty acids.

Vegan food supplements with Omega-3: Fish oil is not necessary

As you can see, you can stay healthy even without fish oil. A salad with linseed oil, a dish with cauliflower or a cereal with hemp seeds – there are plenty of foods with which you can take Omega-3 vegan.

If you want less stress when planning your meals, you can also get omega-3 fatty acids from food supplements.

Here again the most important tips summarized:

  • Make sure you take in enough omega-6 fatty acids in addition to omega-3
  • If you do not use dietary supplements, you should definitely include omega-3 vegan foods in your diet
  • Capsules with algae oil are an excellent vegan alternative to fish oil or fats of edible fish
  • Also with vegan food supplements, make sure that the capsules are not made from animal ingredients

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Ist Omega-3 vegan? Grundsätzlich ja – aber nicht immer. Die besten Tipps für vegane Ernährung.

Ist Omega-3 vegan Grundsätzlich ja – aber nicht immer. Die besten Tipps für vegane Ernährung.

Du lebst vegan oder achtest auf gesunde Ernährung? Dann hast du sicher schonmal was von den berühmten ungesättigten Fettsäuren gehört. Omega-3 gehört zu dieser Gruppe. Sie gelten als besonders gesund und sind einer der Gründe, warum die meisten Ernährungsexperten dazu raten, mehrmals die Woche Fisch zu essen.

Aber Moment mal… Fisch? Gibt es keine vegane Alternative?

Keine Sorge, Omega-3 gibt es auch in pflanzlicher Form. Trotzdem hat die Sache mit dem Fisch einen – entschuldige das Wortspiel – kleinen Haken: Enthält dein Speiseplan nämlich keine Fische, musst du gezielt darauf achten, vegane Lebensmittel mit genügend Omega-3-Fettsäuren zu dir zu nehmen. Umso mehr Achtung ist bei Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln geboten, da viele Omega-3-Kapseln Fischöl enthalten und das stammt, wie der Name schon vermuten lässt, wiederum vom Fisch.

Es gibt einen Grund, warum du unbedingt auf die ausreichende Aufnahme der Fettsäuren achten sollst. Unser Körper kann ohne sie schlichtweg nicht funktionieren. Omega-3-Fette gehören neben den Omega-6 und Omega-9 Fettsäuren zur Gruppe der ungesättigten Fettsäuren. Wir brauchen sie in unserem Organismus vor allem für eine normale Funktion bestimmter Zellen, unserer Durchblutung und Gefäße.

Bei den Omega-3-Fettsäuren gibt es drei Vertreter, die besonders wichtig sind, weil unser Körper sie nicht oder nur eingeschränkt selbst produzieren kann:

  • Alpha-Linolensäure (ALA)
  • Docosahexaensäure (DHA)
  • Eicosapentaensäure (EPA)

Wir haben ein paar Tipps für dich, damit du auch bei veganer Lebensweise genug davon abbekommst.

So kommst du auch bei veganer Ernährung zu ausreichend Omega-3-Fettsäuren

Bei veganer Ernährung hast du zwei Optionen, deinen Bedarf an Omega-3-Fettsäuren zu decken: Pflanzliche Omega-3-Quellen und Nahrungsergänzungsmittel.

Planst du deine Ernährung sorgfältig, ist es ohne große Probleme möglich, nur über das Essen ausreichend ungesättigte Fettsäuren aufzunehmen. Möchtest du dir darüber allerdings nicht den Kopf zerbrechen oder gezielt einen Omega-3-Mangel behandeln, ist der Griff zu Omega-3-Kapseln vielleicht die bessere Alternative für dich.

Omega-3 durch vegane Lebensmittel

Achte vor allem darauf, dass deine Ernährung genügend Alpha-Linolensäure enthält. Unser Körper kann sie nämlich nicht auf eigenem Wege herstellen.

Beliebte pflanzliche Quellen hierfür sind zum Beispiel Hanfsamen, Leinsamen oder Walnüsse. Laut der Europäischen Behörde für Lebensmittelsicherheit (EFSA) brauchst du etwa einen Esslöffel gemahlener Leinsamen, zwei Esslöffel Hanfsamen oder sechs Walnüsse, um deinen Tagesbedarf an ALA zu decken.

Omega-3 durch vegane Nahrungsergänzung

Vegane Omega-3-Nahrungsergänzungsmittel enthalten meistens Öl aus besonders nährstoffreichen Mikroalgen. Bei pflanzlicher Ernährung nimmst du oft nur wenig der Omega-3-Fettsäuren EPA und DHA auf. Mit der regelmäßigen Einnahme solcher Algenöl-Kapseln kannst du deine Ernährung um die wertvollen Omega-3-Nährstoffe ergänzen. Die EFSA empfiehlt hier in etwa 250 Milligramm der Stoffe pro Tag.

Tipp für Veganer und Veganerinnen: Achte bei den Nahrungsergänzungskapseln nicht bloß auf die Inhaltsstoffe, sondern mach dich auch über die Zusammensetzung der Kapsel selbst schlau. Oft enthalten diese nämlich tierische Stoffe, die einer veganen Lebensweise natürlich ganz und gar nicht zuträglich sind.

Die Balance macht’s!

Wie so oft im Leben, ist auch bei der Versorgung mit Omega-Fettsäuren die Balance entscheidend – und das gleich in mehrfacher Hinsicht:

  • Unser Körper kann die Fettsäuren EPA und DHA zwar aus der Alpha-Linolensäure herstellen, aber nur mit bedingter Effizienz. Achte also darauf, genug von allen wichtigen Omega-3-Fettsäuren aufzunehmen.
  • Damit dein Körper von den Nährstoffen profitieren kann, muss das Verhältnis zwischen aufgenommenen Omega-6- und Omega-3-Fettsäuren stimmen. Es sollte mindestens 5:1 betragen (je gleichwertiger, desto besser). Nimmst du mehr Omega-3 vegan auf, brauchst du also auch mehr Omega-6.

Diese 5 pflanzlichen Lebensmittel sind die besten Omega-3-Quellen bei veganer Ernährung

Platz 5: Rosenkohl

Ob als Beilage oder Hauptgericht – Rosenkohl ist lecker. Aber nicht nur das: das Gemüse ist außerdem super gesund! Er ist reich an Ballaststoffen, den Vitaminen C und K und enthält obendrein eine satte Portion ungesättigte Fettsäuren.

So enthalten 40 Gramm Rosenkohl in etwa 40 Milligramm der wichtigsten Omega-3-Fettsäure Alpha-Linolensäure.

Platz 4: Walnüsse

Eine Nuss besteht zu mehr als 60% aus Fett. Das macht sie einerseits zwar sehr kalorienhaltig, andererseits aber auch zu einer Bombe gesunder Energie. Die enthaltenen Fette gehören nämlich durchwegs zu den gesunden Fetten. Selbst eine kleine Portion (30g) Walnüsse deckt mit mehr als 2500 Milligramm bereits weit mehr als den Tagesbedarf an veganen Omega-3-Fettsäuren ab.

Und sie sind extrem vielfältig: Zum Garnieren von Speisen, zum Backen oder im Salat. Im Gegensatz zu Kohlsprossen sind sie außerdem deutlich besser als gesunder Snack für zwischendurch geeignet.

Platz 3: Hanfsamen

Hanfsamen sind voll mit gesunden Omega-3-Fettsäuren. 30 Gramm enthalten in etwa 6000 Milligramm ALA. Hanfsamen alleine sind natürlich etwas langweilig, sie machen sich als Zusatz zu allen möglichen Gerichten allerdings super. Versuch also mal, dein Müsli deinen Smoothie mit gesunden und veganen Hanfsamen zu verfeinern.

Platz 2: Leinsamen

Suchst du vegane Omega-3-Quellen, bist du bei den Leinsamen an der richtigen Stelle. Ein besonders wirkungsvoller Tipp ist das gesunde Leinöl. Es besteht zu mehr als 50% aus puren Omega-3-Fettsäuren und kann für Salate, zum Kochen oder für einen leckeren selbstgemachten Aufstrich herhalten. Am besten schmeckt das Öl dabei frisch. Falls du also im Geschäft zum Leinöl greifst, solltest du es innerhalb weniger Wochen verbrauchen, da es sonst bitter wird.

Platz 1: Meeresalgen 

Warum verdienen ausgerechnet Meeresalgen unseren Platz eins auf der Liste? Keine Angst, wir raten dir jetzt nicht zur Algenpizza oder ähnlichen Dingen. Vielmehr sind es ganz besondere Mikrolagen, über die wir Omega-3 vegan aufnehmen können – die Schizochytrium-Arten. Du kannst sie in Form von wirksamen Öl-Kapseln einnehmen.

Fische haben daher so viel Omega-3, weil sie es über ihre Nahrung (Algen) bekommen. Greifen wir also direkt zu diesen Algen, können wir den nicht-veganen Teil dieser Nahrungskette überspringen.

Ein Problem bei veganer Ernährung und Omega-3 ist oft, dass man ALA relativ gut über pflanzliche Nahrung wie Nüsse abbekommt, hohe EPA und DHA Werte findest du allerdings fast ausschließlich im Fisch. Die Algen der Schizochytrium-Art sind eine Ausnahme und sind reich an sämtlichen Omega-3-Fettsäuren.

Vegane Nahrungsergänzungsmittel mit Omega-3: Fischöl muss nicht sein

Wie du siehst, kannst du also auch ganz ohne Fischöl gesund bleiben. Ein Salat mit Leinöl, ein Gericht mit Blumenkohl oder ein Müsli mit Hanfsamen – Es gibt genügend Lebensmittel, mit denen du Omega-3 vegan zu dir nehmen kannst.

Möchtest du weniger Stress beim Planen deiner Mahlzeiten, kannst du Omega-3-Fettsäuren auch aus Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln erhalten.

Hier nochmal die wichtigsten Tipps zusammengefasst:

  • Achte darauf, neben Omega-3 auch genügend Omega-6-Fettsäuren aufzunehmen
  • Greifst du nicht auf Nahrungsergänzungsmittel zurück, solltest du unbedingt Omega-3-haltige vegane Lebensmittel in deinen Speiseplan einbauen
  • Kapseln mit Algenöl sind eine hervorragende vegane Alternative zu Fischöl oder Fetten von Speisefischen
  • Achte auch bei veganen Nahrungsergänzungsmitteln darauf, dass die Kapseln nicht aus tierischen Inhaltsstoffen hergestellt wurden

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

*